Bristol Hebrew Congregation





JCR-UK is a genealogical and historical website covering all Jewish communities and
congregations throughout the British Isles and Gibraltar, both past and present.

Ministers (and Readers) of the Synagogue
from 1765 to 2016

The scroll-down table below lists known ministers of the Bristol Hebrew Congregation, which list also includes the congregation's readers (chazanim). The table has been assembled from the pre-1900 information provided by Judith Samuel (Jews in Bristol, Redcliffe Press of Bristol, ISBN 1-900178-16-8) together with post-1900 data extracted from the Congregation's Minute Books, Jewish Year Book listings or has been provided by the Congregation. In a number of instances the dates are approximate. To view a short profile of a minister whose name appears in blue - hold the cursor over his name.


Dates Ministers

1765-1785Isaac Collish or Zvi Hirsch Kalisch
1798-1803Moses Levy
1829-1830Solomon Levy
1829-1832Rev. Abraham Barnett
1833-1835Prof. David Myer Isaacs, BA
1838-1851Aaron Levy Green
1844-1880Rev. Joseph Benjamin
1851-1854Rev. Jacob Lindiner
1855-1858Rev. Samuel Landeshut
1859-1864Rev. Isaac Samuel
1867-1878Rev. Meyer Mendelssohn
1871-1878Rev. Barnett (Berman) Berliner
1872-1879Rev. Abraham Muller
1880-1884Rev. David Fay
1880-1893Rev. Abraham H. Eisenberg
1893-1896Rev. Abraham H. Eisenberg at Bridge St
1893-1896Rev. Emanuel Ritblatt at Bridge St
1885-1889Rev. Joseph Leonard Levy, BA
1890-1892Rev. Moses Hyamson
1894-1895Rev. Louis Mendelsohn, BA
1897-1902Rev. Abraham H. Eisenberg (second term)
1897-1927Rev. Emanuel Ritblatt
1894-1899Rev. A. Levinson
1899-1906Rev. Joshua (Joseph) Abelson, BA
1907-1916Rev. Hyman Goodman
1907-1919Rev. Bernard Paletz
1919-1920Rev. Solomon Mestel, MA
1920-1924Rev. Arthur Barnett, BA
1924-1925Rev. Moses Hirsch Segal
1926-1934Rabbi Harry Swift
1927-1930Rev. Aaron Harry Pakman
1930-1932Rev. H. Lev
1932-1937Rev. A. Goldstein
1934-1944Rev. Simon L Sussman
1935-1947Rev. Louis Sanker
1944-1959Rev. A. Freedman
1951-1955Rev. Harold Lerner
1956-1957Rev. W. Wolfson
1958-1959Sam Lockner
1959-1961Rabbi Dr. Arnost Zvi Ehrman
1962-1987Rev. Max Moddel
1990-1992Rabbi Michael Lloyd Morris
1992-2002Rabbi Hillel Simon
2011-2013Rabbi Dovid Ussiskin
2014-2016Rabbi Mark Daniels

For the List of Officers of the Congregation from 1824 to 2002, see Synagogue Officers

Bristol Hebrew Congregation home page

Page created: June 2003
Page most recently amended: 4 April 2024

Explanation of Terms   |   About JCR-UK  |   JCR-UK home page

Contact JCR-UK Webmaster:
(Note: This is to contact JCR-UK, not the above Congregation)

JGSGB  JewishGen

Terms and Conditions, Licenses and Restrictions for the use of this website:

This website is owned by JewishGen and the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain. All material found herein is owned by or licensed to us. You may view, download, and print material from this site only for your own personal use. You may not post material from this site on another website without our consent. You may not transmit or distribute material from this website to others. You may not use this website or information found at this site for any commercial purpose.

Copyright © 2002 - 2024 JCR-UK. All Rights Reserved